top of page

Maria's Thoughts con Cafe


Over the past several months, I have fully immersed myself in the writing community via Twitter and have participated in as many #kidlit writing opportunities as possible! I have loved getting to know the writing community and honing my craft. I've even been lucky enough to walk away with a win (2022 Holiday Contest 1st place) and an honorable mention (2023 Vivian Kirkfield's 50 Precious Words).


I'm excited to enter the #springflingkidlit for the first time and created my first (hopefully not my last) blog post as a result. This was such a fun contest to enter. The goal was to write a children's story (12 and under) inspired by a springtime GIF. The catch? It had to be 150 words. This may have scared the living daylights out of me in the past. The first contest I ever entered was 250 and I thought that was daunting. But now choosing my words carefully and keeping it short and impactful is a fun challenge. If I was able to enter the 50 Precious Words challenge, then surely I could do this!


So without further adieu, I hope you enjoy Norman and Bloom. Inspired by the beautiful Dogwood trees in Georgia and my dreadful allergies.

GIF credit to: First Day of Spring GIF by Google(2016). Retrieved from https://www.google.com/doodles/first-day-of-spring-2016-northern-hemisphere




NORMAN AND BLOOM

By Maria Piñero Pope

148 words


“It’s almost time,” whispered Leonard to the other rocks.

“How are we feeling?  

Norman?  You ok buddy?  

Did you take your allergy medicine? 

Remember last year?”


“Yeah, I took it!”

“You sure?”

“Yep!  Well, pretty sure…like 99%”

“Norman!  They only flower ONCE a year!”

“I knooow!”


Meanwhile…


Bloom stretched in her cozy bud.  

“Tree, can I come out yet?”

“No, it’s too cold.”


“What about now?”

“No.”

“Pleeeeeease let me out, Tree?”

“Nope, still too cold.”

“That’s it! I’m coming out, Tree!”

“I wouldn’t.”


Bloom let a tiny pink petal peek over her bud’s brim.


“See, It’s not that cold.”


Bloom blossomed and beamed in the sun.


The other flowers followed.


Suddenly from underneath… a sniffle, a snort and an…


AAA-AAA-AAACHOOOOOOOO!


“Oh nooo!!!” hollered Bloom.

Petals went flying in every direction. 


“NORMAAAN!”


Norman shrugged. “Oops, my bad. Guess I forgot.”

88 views2 comments
bottom of page